In the state of Florida, a driver is legally drunk if his or her blood alcohol content is .08 percent or higher. However, a panel of scientists has recommended that the threshold be lowered to .05 percent. This threshold applies in Utah and more than 100 European countries. To reach a BAC of .05 percent, a woman weighing over 120 pounds would likely need to consume two drinks in an hour. The same would be true of a man weighing roughly 160 pounds.

Men weighing over 180 pounds could typically consume three drinks before reaching this threshold. In addition to decreasing the alcohol threshold, the panel from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine suggested making alcohol harder to acquire. This could mean cutting back on the number of hours during which it could be sold. It might also mean restricting how it could be marketed and where it may be sold to consumers.

According to the report, drunk driving deaths had a larger impact in rural areas. During 2015, about 48 percent of such deaths occurred in rural parts of the country. Data shows that approximately 10,000 people die each year because of alcohol-related car crashes. While self-driving cars will likely help reduce that number, that technology is years away from replacing every car currently on the road.

A DUI charge could come with serious penalties for those who are convicted. Drivers may lose their ability to operate a motor vehicle in addition to the possibility of paying a fine or spending time in jail. It may also be necessary to attend traffic school or do community service. An attorney may cast doubt on evidence used to charge a person of drunk or impaired driving. This may result in an impaired driving charge being dismissed.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response