Florida man charged with DUI while on a golf cart

A 45-year-old Florida man was driving a golf cart with a blood alcohol concentration more than three times the state's .08 percent limit on the evening of March 28 according to a report from the Sumter County Sheriff's Office. He has been charged with driving while under the influence of alcohol and resisting arrest. The man was taken into custody in Lady Lake and transported to the Sumter County Detention Center for processing.

Drunk driving is dangerous, but avoidable with planning

The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration has increased efforts tied to its Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over campaign. The campaign has been running in Florida and across the country to remind people not to drink and drive. Law enforcement agencies nationwide are involved in the campaign to crack down on drunk drivers. Mothers Against Drunk Driving is also promoting it Power of Youth program, which is designed to help teenagers say no to drinking and not to get into vehicles with drunk drivers.

Florida man facing DUI charges after cemetary accident

Police in Florida say that a 29-year-old man was drunk when he lost control of his pickup truck in St. Johns County during the early morning hours of Jan. 30. Two pedestrians suffered what media reports described as serious injuries in the ensuing accident. The man's truck also allegedly caused damage to a historic cemetery that a nonprofit group says will cost at least $10,000 to repair. He faces multiple drunk driving charges and is being held at the St. Johns County Jail on a $56,000 bond.

Football player taken into custody for drunk driving

Florida residents may still be buzzing about the NFC Championship game between the New Orleans Saints and Los Angeles Rams. However, a Saints player is in the news after being taken into custody for drunk driving at about 1:10 a.m. on Jan. 23. The Saints cornerback was released from custody about three hours later after posting a bond.

Stricter laws might reduce drunk driving deaths

In the state of Florida, a driver is legally drunk if his or her blood alcohol content is .08 percent or higher. However, a panel of scientists has recommended that the threshold be lowered to .05 percent. This threshold applies in Utah and more than 100 European countries. To reach a BAC of .05 percent, a woman weighing over 120 pounds would likely need to consume two drinks in an hour. The same would be true of a man weighing roughly 160 pounds.

Understanding first-time DUI charges in Florida

A driving under the influence (DUI) charge is what a Florida driver may face if they are pulled over for being suspected of operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. While each jurisdiction in The Sunshine State has procedures in place for first-time DUI charges, the process generally involves being arrested and spending some time in jail. Depending the circumstances involved, a judge may allow a charged individual to be released on bail as long as they agree to remain in the area until a scheduled hearing takes place.

Drunk driving common among veterans

Florida veterans concerned about drunk driving charges should know they are not alone. According to a study by the American Addiction Centers, in recent years, both binge drinking and drunk driving have become far more common among the U.S. veteran population. The study looked closely at the reasons for the spike and determined that emotional and physical trauma is largely to blame for this type of substance abuse.

Florida man charged with DUI thought police car was an Uber

A 40-year-old Florida man who was taken into custody for DUI on the evening of Nov. 24 thought the patrol car taking him to jail was an Uber ride, according to media reports. Lee County Sheriff's Office deputies say that the man's evening took a turn for the worse when he rear-ended a car that was waiting at a red light near Cape Coral.

Email Us For A Response